Green Smoothie Your Way to Radiant Skin

I have to admit that I’ve recently become a green smoothie junkie. Ever since I blended my first green smoothie, I was hooked. Not only was I hooked, but I was actually surprised by just how much I would come to like them! Green smoothies are both delicious and nutritious and are most certainly worth all the fuss and attention they have received these past few years. So today, I thought I would spend a little time sharing some of the knowledge I’ve gained about green smoothies, along with my favourite green smoothie recipe.

What exactly are the benefits of green smoothies? 

Firstly, and perhaps most obviously, they enable you to consume an impressively large quantity of vegetables (and fruits!) that you probably wouldn’t have consumed if they were in their solid form. That means you get all the vitamins, chlorophyll, and fibre from fruits and vegetables in a cup! They are also extremely easy to make and are a super low maintenance drink. I can get a two-day pitcher ready in less than 10 minutes.

Green Smoothies and Radiant Skin

But apart from obvious reasons as to why green smoothies are good for you (healthy, low calories, great for digestive health, filling, help combat various illnesses), I’ve noticed that ever since I started drinking them, my skin has been glowing.

I’ve always had problem skin. With an oily t-zone and an acne-prone complexion, pretty much everything irritates my skin. But ever since I introduced this smoothie into my daily routine, I’ve got to say that I have been quite impressed with the way it has tamed my breakouts and improved my skin’s radiance. It turns out that all those vitamins, along with the magic of chlorophyll, are basically skin superheroes.

I’ve noticed that my skin has been significantly than it usually is for over two months now (roughly the amount of time I’ve been drinking green smoothies). It’s also nice and plump from all the hydration it receives from the smoothies. To be fair, I drink a lot of green smoothies per day (roughly 4-5 cups). That said, it’s a wonderful addition to my day and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a healthy and natural way to clear up skin and give the body a health boost.

Here’s my Ultimate Green Smoothie Recipe:

1-2 cups water (depending on the consistency you like)

1/3 of a pineapple, chopped

1/3 of a cucumber, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

5-6 leaves kale, chopped

2 apples, chopped

1/3 cup parsley, chopped

1/3 cup cilantro, chopped

4-5 leaves romaine or iceberg lettuce (I often use both!)

a handfull of spinach if you’re up for it (it will dilute some of the sweetness, so if you’re not one for very sweet drinks, then go ahead and add it in. The smoothie is equally tasty when the spinach is included.)

Blend pineapple and cucumber with water and create a liquid base to make the rest of the blending easier. Then, adding a bit of veggies/fruits at a time, blend the rest of the ingredients together. The longer you blend, the smoother the smoothie. You can always add more water or less of an ingredient depending on your taste. All done!

Have you tried green smoothies yet? If so, what are your thoughts on them? If not, you should try this recipe and let me know what you think!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

