An Updated Skincare Ritual

Skincare 1

I love skincare. I really do. There is something so calming about that moment after waking, or prior to sleeping, where you treat yourself  to cleansing, hydrating, and massaging for a good 20 minutes. The time you dedicate to skincare can make the biggest difference in the way that you view your health, your skin, and yourself in general. When you dedicate time to treating yourself well, you look at yourself with a new self-appreciation. It’s pretty amazing that a mere 20 minutes of concentration on your skin can transform the way you look and feel. With that in mind, skincare is not something to skimp on, but instead, something to look forward to and revel in.

I recently wrote an article called Top Rules for Your Skincare Ritual, where I outlined an optimal skincare routine based on how much time you have to dedicate to your skin on a given day (30 min, 15 min, 5 min, 1 min!). Today, I am going to update that skincare regime.

A few days ago, I read an article by Alix from I Covet Thee (a blog which I love, by the way), entitled Upping My Skincare Game, which inspired me to do a little more research and  “up” my skincare game as well. Alix links a video of Isabelle Bellis, top French aestehtician, showing how to clean your face (part 1 / part 2). I really loved what Isabelle had to say about the application of your products, no matter what the products are, as it’s the application that really makes the difference in how the products are working for you. So I did a little more digging about her and found this interview that she did with Elle Magazine. Elle asks what she thinks the biggest difference is between French and American approaches to skincare. Isabelle answers that “French women are very committed to their facials and aestheticians.”

So in order to more so commit myself to my skin, I booked a facial with my aesthetician pronto and bought some new products – eye cream, line minimizer, and a new moisturizer that’s super rich and thus perfect for the bitter winter air.

So the new routine looks a little something like this:

  • Remove makeup with a cotton pad (I recently bought Shiseido cotton pads to see what all the fuss is about – I’ll keep you all posted) and makeup remover or facial cleansing wipe. Concentrate on gently buffing away mascara, as it won’t come off simply with a facial cleanser. I use Bioderma for this step.
  • Cleanse face for two whole minutes with facial cleanser of choice. I alternate between two depending on the mood my skin’s in. In the videos above, Isabelle Bellis mentions that when you cleanse your face, it should be with quick motions so as not to let the product sink in, but rather to bring out all the gunk sitting on its surface and wash it away.
  • Tone. In my 30 minute routine, I tone with two separate products. The first is a mist spray (not pictured above) for hydration while the second is a treatment toner for colour correction (product #7).
  • This step used to say “apply serum if you use it.” In order to “up” my game though, I now always apply serum here, because, let’s face it, we can always use it.
  • Massage eyes with a cooling rollerball to de-puff eyes and reduce dark spots. Clinique’s All About Eyes Serum De-Puffing Eye Massage is lovely and very much worth it.
  • Then, apply (new!) eye cream below and above eye, as well as line minimizer in the corner of eyes and on smile lines. No need to use a lot of product as these creams tend to be very potent.
  • Apply spot treatment cream if needed (hopefully you don’t, but we’re not all so lucky)
  • Moisturize skin, including neck. In the video, Isabelle uses upward strokes on the neck to work against the effects of gravity, and lymph draining movements while moisturizing the face, moving her hands from her nose to her ears (This is my favourite part of her technique).
  • Finally, and importantly, lip balm. I was using Smith’s Rosebud Salve quite consistently, and still use it from time to time, but I’m mainly using Aveda’s Renewing Lip Treatment at the moment as it’s so moisturizing and incredibly protective during the cold weather (it also helps reduce fine lines on the lips which is a definite plus).

If you haven’t noticed from the photo above, I use Aveda almost exclusively on my face. As it turns out, my day job involves managing an Aveda salon and spa, and so I have access to a lot of Aveda loot (which is awesome). If you haven’t heard of the brand, they are a natural, ethically and environmentally conscious company that makes super awesome stuff.

Pictured above: 1. Bioderma | 2. Tourmaline Charged Exfoliating Cleanser | 3. Green Science Firming Eye Creme | 4. Outer Peace Acne Spot Relief | 5. Enbrightenment Brightening Correcting Serum | 6. Outer Peace Foaming Cleanser | 7. Enbrightenment Brightening Treatment Toner | 8. Green Science Line Minimizer | 9. Clinique All About Eyes Serum De-Puffing Eye Massage | 10. Enbrightenment Brightening Intensive Massage Masque

How committed are you to your skincare? Any tips on perfecting the ultimate skincare routine?

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

