For the Love of Tartine! Or, the Open Face Sandwich

IMG_4853

This summer, my sister and I travelled to New York together for the first time (which is another post altogether), but while we were there, we made a point to stop by Le Pain Quotidien, a bakery and communal styled restaurant, and of course, they have a stellar selection of tartines. Since then, I’ve been a little obsessed with open-faced sandwiches. Here is just one of my renditions, and it makes for a great breakfast or lunch. Enjoy!

IMG_4854

The lovely thing about this particular meal is that it’s incredibly easy to put together, but still very satisfying. The best tip I can offer is to use a crusty and sturdy bread because you want your sandwich to hold up well.

Here is what you’ll need:

– Sturdy bread (I used a crusty rye from Ace bakery – they’re organic, so that’s a plus)

– Your favourite goat cheese (I use C’est Bon, an Ontarian brand. It’s my favourite.)

– 1/2 avocado, mashed

– thinly sliced tomato

– thinly sliced cumber

– alfalfa sprouts

– cayenne pepper

– salt

I toasted my bread a little bit and then layered all ingredients in the following manner: bread, goat cheese, avocado, few dashes cayenne pepper, cucumber, tomato, pinch of salt, alfalfa sprouts. Ta da!

IMG_4855 Delicious!

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “For the Love of Tartine! Or, the Open Face Sandwich

Leave a Reply

