Old & New Year Thoughts

It’s 2015 and here we are. Well done, us. But before moving into the new year, I thought I would look back on my best moments of 2014 and then work toward building the 2015 that I want to live. Here we go!

Best Moments of 2014

Trips: New York City in the summer for the first time with my sister. Definitely my best trip ever. I will post an article all about this trip in an Out & About post.

Purchases: Clarity Clutch and Privacy Clutch by Truffle; Olivier Blouse by Babaton; Calisch Cross Body by Auxiliary; my Acura!

Gifts: Eau Duelle Eau de Toilette by Dyptique from my lovely sister; Hampton Cable Bracelet by David Yurman from my parents

Songs: I see Fire by Ed Sheeran (I know this came out in 2013, but I only discovered in 2014. That counts, right?); Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars; Pompeii by Bastille; Of the Night by Bastille (Actually, they might be my band of the year);

Cultural Events: Lupita Nyong’o & Jared Leto’s respective acceptance speeches at the Oscars; Finally, HIMYM is over! That show ran on way past its expiration date (sorry, HIMYM lovers!); Community getting picked up on Yahoo Screen!!; Same sex weddings at the Grammy’s!

Books: I know these were published before 2014, but I just got around to reading them: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, obviously; Archive Fever by Jacques Derrida; The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

FilmsThe Grand Budapest Hotel dir. Wes Anderson; Nightcrawler dir. Dan Gilroy; Birdman dir. Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu; Gone Girl dir. David Fincher; X-men Days of Future Past dir. Brian Singer; Maleficent dir. Robert Stromberg

TV Shows: True Detective, Season 1; Game of Thrones, Season 4; Community, Season 5 and the return of Dan Harmon!; House of Cards, Season 2 with an incredible performance by Robin Wright; The Affair, Season 1; Sherlock, Season 3

Looking Forward to these in 2015

Trips: Hmm.. I’m thinking East Coast Canada, but I’ve been thinking that for a while now. Maybe this is the year I actually do it!

Purchases: In need of a new spring trench coat

Gifts: Haha – who knows?

Songs: Also, who knows?!

Cultural Events: Friends is on Netflix!! Whoo!!

Books: I have no idea what to read this year – recommendations?

Films: Avengers 2: Age of Ultron, dir. Joss Whedon; Tomorrowland, dir. Brad Bird; Mad Max; Fury Road, dir. George Miller; Kingsman: The Secret Service, dir. Matthew Vaughn; Cinderella, dir. Kenneth Branagh; Pitch Perfect 2, dir. Elizabeth Banks

TV Shows: I’m actually slightly looking forward to Galavant. It has so many talented actors and writers that I feel compelled to check it out!; True Detective Season 2

What were your best moments of 2014 / What are you looking forward to in 2015?

And, hey, happy new year!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

