Easy, Healthy & Delicious Breakfast! Chocolate Banana Overnight Oats

IMG_5345

Breakfast is likely my favourite meal. Eggs, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, crepes, paninis, the list could go on for a very long time. And as much as I would love to have pancakes everyday for breakfast, I know that isn’t exactly a realistic nor healthy option. So I have been on a hunt to find breakfast solutions that combine healthy with delicious, and that are anything but boring, because let’s face it, how many times can you really have hard-boiled eggs in the morning before wanting to throw all your eggs away and never buy them again. 

So here’s the deal, I’m sure you’ve heard of overnight oats. The infinite recipes are floating around Pinterest and Bloglovin’ en masse. And even though I like oatmeal, I never expected these overnight oats to be SO good. Even my friends who don’t love oatmeal love this recipe because they don’t really feel like the warm, gooey oatmeal you’re used to eating in the morning. These are cold (though you can make them warmer if you want), slightly chewy, very creamy, and just all around awesome for an incredibly quick and delicious breakfast.

These oats can also be stored in a tupperware in the fridge for roughly 5 days, so all you need to do is scoop out your portion for the day, and that’s it. I personally pour my serving into a more transportable tupperware and take it to work for breakfast.

Chocolate Banana Overnight Oats:

1 cup oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oats. I have tried using other brands of steel cut oats, but they are far too hard, and don’t soften up enough overnight. I have also used rolled and quick oats, but the Bob’s Red Mill are by far my favourite.)

1 cup almond milk (I use vanilla)

1 mashed banana

1 heaped teaspoon raw organic unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon pure maple syrup

Combine all ingredients in a large tupperware and let sit overnight. The next morning, give the mixture a quick stir, then scoop out however much you would like for breakfast, and top with nuts, fruits, or whatever you like. I love this version with strawberries heaped on top.

I also double the recipe for a one-week batch. This is a filling breakfast, so I find that 2 cups is just right for the week.

IMG_5346

So, have you ever tried overnight oats? What are your thoughts on them? What’s your favourite variation?

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Easy, Healthy & Delicious Breakfast! Chocolate Banana Overnight Oats

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked the post! These oats are so easy and so delicious, so I definitely hope you try them out! Let me know what you think when you do 🙂

    • They really are very, very good, so you should definitely try give them a try. The best part is that they are so easy to make, and very quick to take on the go in the morning!

Leave a Reply

