Downsizing My Makeup Collection

IMG_6017In efforts to adopt a more minimalist lifestyle, I’ve decided to cut out the (mostly) unnecessary from my life. A few weeks ago, I rid 50 items from my closet, as well as 12 purses and roughly 25 items of jewelry. Some things I have donated, others I have sold, but the end result is that these items are no longer mine.

This week, I did the same thing with my makeup collection. Like many makeup owners and lovers, I have definitely stocked up on all sorts of products, and while I love lots of them, others I have kept simply for the sake of keeping. For the sake of not throwing them out and being wasteful, as it were. But having them and not using them is a waste, and it takes up room in and crowds one’s life.

As I was sorting through my enormous pile of makeup, I found that I held onto empty bottles of product (in fact, I had 5 empty bottles of concealer! 3 Chanel, 2 Aveda), products I simply didn’t like, and older products I never used. I think I held onto them to try and salvage some of the product in the nearly empty bottles, to not be wasteful by throwing away the products I didn’t like, and to try and make use of those I didn’t touch as often.

But the fact is, I was never going to revisit them because, like most of us, I only use the newer products I buy and forget about the old ones. Not on purpose, of course, but this process of replacement is natural, and I’m learning to accept that at face value.

IMG_6015

IMG_6019

IMG_6021

IMG_6020

IMG_6018

That would be:

1 eyeshadow palette | 5 concealers | 4 mascaras | 7 lip products | 1 primer | 4 powders | 1 mini-foundation | 7 eyeliners | 1 brow gel/tint | 2 eyeshadow pans | 1 bronzer

Grand total of 34 products.

I must admit, it feels quite nice to let them go. I still own too much makeup, but at least it’s 34 items less.

Have you tried downsizing your makeup collection? How did you do?

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Downsizing My Makeup Collection

  1. Oh wow that is amazing! Not a lot of people would get rid of makeup products, accessories or clothes. I am downsizing my makeup as well but not the same way. I haven’t bought one single makeup product for a year – I want to finish everything I own first!

    • Thank you! And your strategy is very impressive. I don’t know if I could not buy any new products for a year! Well done!

Leave a Reply

