Avocado Toast a la Gwyneth Paltrow Meets Le Pain Quotidien

IMG_6272

I know Gwyneth Paltrow gets a lot of grief for putting forth unrealistic ideals for the “everywoman,” but as the person who has popularized avocado toast, I can’t quibble with her too much because I love it. Avocado toast is delicious, healthy, and incredibly satisfying that you’ve simply got to try it if you haven’t yet. 

I will admit it right away so that we can clear the air: I have two of GP’s cookbooks: My Father’s Daughter and It’s All Good. And as much as I probably should hate them, I really don’t. There are some good recipes in there, and even some I’ve repeated over and over.

Which brings us back to the conversation about avocado toast. It’s one of the first recipes found in It’s All Good. It calls for toast, layered with vegenaise (healthy twist on mayo), mashed avocado, and lemon, sprinkled with some Maldon sea salt flakes and red pepper flakes.

IMG_6274

I’ve tried Gwyneth’s version, and it’s really good. But last summer, I travelled to New York with my sister and discovered Le Pain Quotidien, a delicious communal-style bakery/restaurant and fell in love with their selection of tartines (open-faced sandwiches). I actually wrote a post about my love of tartines and included another delicious recipe – read it here! So for this post, I decided to do a combination recipe by mixing influences from GP with influences from LPQ, and achieved some pretty awesome results.

Here’s the recipe:

2 slices seed-encrusted toast (I use Ace Bakery)

1 ripe avocado

vegenaise

juice of 1/2 a small lemon

dash of cayenne pepper

carrot shavings

chia seeds

salt to tast

lemon wedges for squeezing

1. Mash avocado with a fork to your desired texture. Add lemon juice, cayenne, and salt to taste.

2. Spread a little bit of vegenaise onto your toasted slices of bread, followed by a generous heaping of the avocado mixture. Top with carrot shavings and chia seeds.

3. Add more salt if you like, squeeze a lemon wedge over it and enjoy!

TIP: I create my carrot shavings by using a vegetable peeler to create thin and slightly curled slices, which makes for great presentation.

IMG_6276

Looks delicious, right? It totally is. Give this recipe a try for a quick and hearty breakfast or lunch – it’s perfect for both occasions – and let me know what you think!

Also, do you have any favourite healthy recipes? I’m always looking for something new to try, so let me know 🙂

If you don’t already follow me on bloglovin’, please do!
Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

