Foundations in Rotation

IMG_1292

Are you a 1 foundation person, a 2 foundations personation, or a multiple foundations person? I’m clearly the latter. 

My little collection is a result of 2 things: steady repurchases of my favourites (the Chanel foundations), and curiosity (the others).

IMG_1295

The Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and Perfection Lumiere are my absolute favourites. I have repurchased both too many times to count, and I must always have them on hand.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua: This is the first foundation I’d ever purchased. I first bought it when I was 18 (seriously, I didn’t start wearing foundation until I was 18… how the times have changed), fell in love, and have worn it ever since. Its water base gives it a light, airy texture that blends in really well with my skin. It starts as a light coverage, but is easily buildable to a medium coverage. It gives the skin a beautiful dewy finish, and can be made matte with a little translucent powder. It has SPF 15, and while SPF reflects light, Vitalumiere Aqua is specially formulated so as not to be light reflective, so you can still wear this foundation for events where you know you will be photographed. ❤

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet: I bought this product immediately after it launched a few years back, and I have been repurchasing it ever since. The key differences are that this foundation has a fuller coverage than Vitalumiere Aqua, and it comes on completely matte, dry, and velvety smooth. Both products are really great, and I use them for different reasons. Where Vitalumiere Aqua is more of a day foundation for me, I use Perfection Lumiere when I go out. The formula, which is also oil-free, stays on longer, and resists wear, so it lasts better throughout the night with little need for touch-ups. I do also use it during the day time when I’m having a rough skin day. Since it has a stronger coverage (medium to medium-full), it does a better job of evening my skin tone during breakouts without caking. The texture is just as lightweight as Vitalumiere, but the finish is entirely different, and they are both incredibly worthwhile. If I want a coverage that is between the two, I will often mix a few drops of Glossier Perfecting Skin Tint into the Perfection Lumiere to achieve a middle ground between the two, and so far, that has been my favourite combination.

IMG_1296

Glossier Perfecting Skin Tint: I have this product in both Medium and Dark shades. I recently shared a review here, along with all my other Glossier Phase One products, and you should check it out :). While not technically a foundation, this base softly evens out skin tone to minimize discolouration, leaving the skin really beautiful and dewy. It has a really lightweight coverage, that some have said is buildable, but I don’t personally think it is. This product isn’t meant to be buildable, but rather it is meant to perfect what you’ve got. It doesn’t “erase … evidence that you are, in fact, a real human being,” according to the website, a philosophy that I love. And while I do really stand by that philosophy, the Perfecting Skin Tint is better worn alone on a good skin day. For other days, I find I need a little more coverage, so I will combine it with another foundation to achieve a dewy and sheering effect so my own natural skin comes through, but not so sheer that I have to overdo it with concealer.

Tom Ford Traceless Foundation Stick: I first discovered the Traceless Foundation Stick while shopping in SoHo. Really, that’s a great way to discover anything. That said, as much as I loved it, I didn’t buy it then because 1) it’s pretty darn pricy, and 2) I was really happy with my Chanel foundations and wasn’t looking for anything new. That Christmas, though, my sister surprised me with it and I was thrilled. It’s a terrific foundation. This cream base has a medium to full coverage, lasts really well (even on nights out), and blends very, very well with my skin. It also stays on the skin for an impressive amount of time with a little translucent powder. I mainly use it as a night-out/event foundation because of how well it lasts. The colour range is also quite impressive, which shades that work well for all skin colours.

IMG_1290

Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation: Of all the foundations in my rotation, this is the one I have the most mixed-feelings about. I bought it at a time when my skin was going haywire and was continually breaking out. When it launched, it boasted a high coverage matte finish that didn’t look cakey. And while it definitely proved to be high coverage and matte, I personally found that it did look cakey, and was a little too light-reflective for my liking. While fingers or a brush are recommended for application, and a sponge is specifically not recommended, I actually found I had the best results when I applied the product with my Beauty Blender. Because the foundation transforms from liquid to powder as you apply, which is a little too quick to properly blend it in, the Beauty Blender keeps it more manageable for a little longer so you can properly blend the product so that it doesn’t sit in wrinkles and dry spots on the skin. That said, it feels very lightweight and I couldn’t tell it was on all night. Plus, this stuff lasts. Overall, this foundation delivers on its promise for a long lasting, high coverage matte finish. That said, it is definitely more suited for someone who is comfortable with a fairly present foundation, as opposed to a more natural look.

 

A few questions for you:

Have you tried any of these foundations? What are your thoughts? Do you have a rotation? What is your favourite foundation?

 
Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

